CLAIM: India and China are part of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations 



On Twitter, President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. posted an infographic falsely identifying China and India as among countries in the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Asean).

The official website of Asean lists only 10 countries as its members;

  • Indonesia
  • Philippines
  • Vietnam
  • Thailand
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Malaysia
  • Cambodia
  • Laos
  • Singapore
  • Brunei Darussalam

China and India are dialogue as well as free-trade partners of Asean, however, and participate in regular meetings of the bloc. Czyrish Conopio


PressOne.PH is part of #FactsFirstPH which brings together various sectors that are committed to promoting truth in the public space, and exacting accountability on those who harm it with lies. For those interested to join the initiative, email

PressOne.PH believes that fact-checking is essential to combating misinformation and disinformation, and in informing and educating citizens and voters. Read more of PressOne.PH’s Fact-Checking Policy by clicking here.

The public is welcome to send feedback or requests for fact-checks at



PressOne.PH is a verified signatory of the Code of Principles of the International Fact -Checking Network at Poynter. The code of principles of the IFCN is a series of commitments organizations abide by to promote excellence in fact-checking.
If you believe PressOne.PH is violating the Code of Principles of the International Fact-Checking Network, you may submit a complaint directly to the IFCN website: