Metro Manila will remain under Alert Level 1 from May 1 to 15, Malacañang announced on Friday.

This means only lenient restrictions will be imposed in the capital region on May 9, election day.

Aside from Metro Manila, these areas will also be under Alert Level 1 from May 1 to 15:

Cordillera Administrative Region: Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mountain Province, and Baguio City
Region I: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan, and Dagupan City
Region II: Batanes, Cagayan, Isabela, Quirino, and City of Santiago
Region III: Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac, Zambales, Angeles City, and Olongapo City;
Region IV-A: Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, and Lucena City;
Region IV-B: Marinduque, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, and Puerto Princesa City
Region V: Albay, Catanduanes, Naga City

Region VI: Aklan, Capiz, Guimaras, Iloilo Province, Bacolod City, and Iloilo City;
Region VII: Siquijor, Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City;
Region VIII: Biliran, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City, and Tacloban City


Region IX: Zamboanga City;
Region X: Camiguin, Bukidnon, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro City, and Iligan City
Region XI: Davao City; and CARAGA: Surigao del Sur and Butuan City

Experts have warned of an uptick in cases in the coming weeks due to social gatherings during religious and elections-related activities.

President Rodrigo Duterte earlier urged voters to always adhere to the government’s health protocols to prevent a possible surge in Covid-19 cases after the 2022 elections. John Ezekiel J. Hirro