President Rodrigo Duterte has placed Metro Manila under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions after the discovery of local Delta variant transmissions in the region.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque announced Duterte’s decision on Friday, saying that the new quarantine measures would last until July 31.

Aside from Metro Manila, the following places are placed under GCQ with heightened restrictions:

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Davao de Oro
  • Davao del Norte

Davao del Sur, Roque said, would revert to GCQ from its previous modified enhanced community quarantine placement.

Entertainment and recreational venues, amusement parks and similar establishments, indoor sports venues and tourist attractions and unauthorized interzonal travel are prohibited under GCQ with heightened restrictions.

The more stringent measures were implemented a day after the Department of Health detected local transmissions of the highly infectious Delta Covid-19 variant in the country. John Ezekiel J. Hirro