Malacañang announced on Friday that Metro Manila, Davao City and six other areas would be under general community quarantine (GCQ) for the month of February.

Batangas, Tacloban City, Davao del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Iligan City and the Cordillera Administrative Region, which includes Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga and Mountain Province will also be under GCQ until Feb. 28.

The rest of the Philippines will be under modified GCQ, the least stringent among the country’s quarantine classifications.

Forty-two percent of the country’s Covid-19 cases were recorded in the capital region.

The country has 521,413 Covid-19 cases as of Jan. 29.

The death count is at 10,600 with 475,765 recoveries. 

Eighty-five percent of the 35,048 active cases are mild cases. John Ezekiel J. Hirro