The Philippines has included its Southeast Asian neighbors Malaysia and Thailand in the list of countries covered by its travel ban, Malacañang announced on Friday.

The travel ban will cover all travelers coming from, and those with history of travel to, the two countries.

The restriction will take effect on July 25 and will last until July 31, Palace spokesman Harry Roque said.

Foreigners arriving before the cutoff will be required to undergo a facility-based 14-day quarantine even if they yield a negative RT-PCR test result.

“This action is undertaken to prevent the further spread and community transmission of Covid-19 variants in the Philippines,” Roque said.

The Philippines has recorded local transmissions of the Delta variant as of Thursday. John Ezekiel J. Hirro