The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases has barred people from the Greater Manila Area, Cebu City and Davao City from traveling to Western Visayas, home to tourism destinations Boracay Island and Guimaras.

In a virtual presser, Palace spokesman Harry Roque said local executives from Region VI had requested the temporary travel ban.

The ban will last until April 10. It was finalized last April 3, through IATF’s Resolution No. 108.

The local government of Iloilo earlier banned flights from Metro Manila and Cebu from April 4 to 10.

Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal, collectively known as “NCR Plus,” are under enhanced community quarantine until April 11. John Ezekiel J. Hirro