The Commission on Elections (Comelec) declared failure of elections in 14 barangays in three Lanao del Sur municipalities. 

These areas will undergo special elections on May 15, 2022 or on a date that the Comelec deems proper.

According on the excerpt from the minutes of the session of the Comelec on May 10, the declaration of failure of election includes: 

  • Barangay Ragayan in Butig town;
  • Barangay Pindolonan in Binidayan town; and
  • 12 barangays in Tubaran town (Tangcal, Datumanong, Guiarong, Baguiangun, Wago, Malaganding, Gadongan, Riantaran, Pagalamatan, Mindamunag, Paigoday-pimbataan, and Metadicop)


The declaration was made after violence erupted in the said areas during election day.

In Butig, armed men stole a vote-counting machine and ballots during election day, canceling the casting of votes in a precinct in Butig Central School.

The Comelec also appointed personnel from the Philippine National Police (PNP) as Special Board of Election Inspectors for the special elections. 

Ronald Espartinez