President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has signed laws creating the Metropolitan Davao Development Authority (MDDA) and the Office of the Judiciary Marshals, the Palace said on Wednesday.

Acting Palace spokesman Martin Andanar said the MMDA would be in charge of development planning, transport management, solid waste disposal and management, flood control and sewerage management, urban renewal, zoning, land use planning and shelter services; health sanitation, urban protection and pollution control, and public safety in “Metropolitan Davao” composed of 15 Davao local government units.

Metropolitan Davao is composed of the following:

  • Panabo
  • Tagum
  • Island Garden City of Samal
  • Davao City
  • Digos City
  • Mati City
  • Sta. Cruz
  • Hagonoy
  • Padada
  • Malalag
  • Sulop
  • Carmen
  • Maco
  • Malita
  • Sta. Maria

The Office of the Judiciary Marshals shall be primarily responsible for the security, safety and protection of the members, officials, personnel and property of the judiciary, including the integrity of the courts and its proceedings.

The Office of the Judiciary Marshals will be under the control and supervision of the Supreme Court through the Office of the Court Administrator. John Ezekiel J. Hirro