President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the extension of the general community quarantine (GCQ) classification of the National Capital Region and Bulacan from June 16 to June 30.

In a televised address on Monday night, the National Capital Region or NCR and Bulacan were placed under GCQ with “some restrictions.”

Rizal, Laguna and Cavite remained under GCQ with “heightened restrictions.”

The following areas, meanwhile, were placed under the stringent modified enhanced community quarantine:

  • Santiago
  • Cagayan
  • Apayao
  • Ifugao
  • Bataan
  • Lucena
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Naga
  • Iloilo City
  • Iloilo province
  • Negros Oriental
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Zamboanga Del Norte
  • Cagayan de Oro
  • Davao City
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan Del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Sur

GCQ was also imposed on the following areas:

  • Baguio
  • Kalinga
  • Mountain Province
  • Abra
  • Benguet
  • ISabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Batangas
  • Quezon
  • Iligan City
  • Davao del Norte
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kuradat
  • Sarangani
  • Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Lanao Del Sur
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the country was put under modified general community quarantine.

The abovementioned quarantine classifications will take effect from June 16 to June 30.

The Philippines has recorded 1,322,053 Covid-19 cases as of June 14. John Ezekiel J. Hirro