Baguio City has prohibited tourists from Metro Manila and four Luzon provinces from visiting the “summer capital.”

Under the Inter-Agency Task Force’s (IATF) Resolution No. 104, leisure travel for people coming from Metro Manila and Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, and Rizal is barred starting March 22 until April 4, 2021.

Baguio City Mayor Benjamin Magalong called for the public’s understanding and urged people to strictly follow public health standards and safety protocols to protect themselves from the coronavirus. 

The city’s decision has affected the local tourism industry as 70 percent of its tourist population comes from the five areas.

Travelers with approved travel and QR-coded travel passes are advised to reschedule through their “VISITA” account. Authorized Persons Outside Residence (APORs) and essential travelers may  register at

The two-week ban is subject to change, depending on IATF recommendations, officials said.

As of March 22, 2021, the city of Baguio has a total of 715 active Covid-19 cases. H.B. Oledan