The Phoenix Suns on Friday (PH time) were eliminated from playoff contention despite going undefeated in their eight seeding games.

Phoenix’s perfect run was capped by a 128-102 beating of the Dallas Mavericks. 

However, the Suns’ immaculate bubble record was spoiled as the Memphis Grizzlies, who finished with a similar 34-39 record, edged Phoenix over a tiebreaker.

To enter the play-in tournament for the final playoff spot in the Western conference, Phoenix needed both Memphis and the Portland Trailblazers to lose. Neither didn’t.

Spurs streak snapped

The San Antonio Spurs’ record-tying 22 straight playoff appearances also came to an end as they finished 10th in the West.

In 1997, the year the Spurs last missed the playoffs, Fidel Ramos was president of the Philippines, the Titanic movie was just released, NASA Pathfinder has just landed on Mars, legend Tim Duncan has yet to play an NBA game and Evander Holyfield still has two ears.

During the 22-year run, the Spurs went on to win 170 of 284 postseason games. They have won five championships under Gregg Popovich: in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014. John Ezekiel J. Hirro