Tropical Depression Maymay maintained its strength placing six areas under tropical storm Signal No. 1.

State weather bureau PAGASA said Maymay is moving slowly west southwestward over the Philippine Sea east of Aurora.

Maymay’s center was estimated 285 km east of Casiguran, Aurora.

The following areas are under Signal No. 1:

  • Isabela
  • Quirino
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Aurora
  • Nueva Ecija
  • the extreme northern portion of Quezon (General Nakar, Infanta) including Pollilo Islands


Maymay packs 39-61 km/h winds in and intermittent rains within 36 hours.

It is expected to make landfall in the vicinity of Aurora or the northern portion of Quezon by Wednesday afternoon or evening.


Ronald Espartinez