Travelers from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, United Arab Emirates and Oman remain barred from entering the Philippines until end-June, President Rodrigo Duterte has determined.

The Philippines started prohibiting the entry of travelers from India and nearby countries in April, when the B.1617 or Delta Covid-19 variant started becoming prevalent in South Asia.

The Philippines has recorded 13 total cases of the Delta variant.

The Department of Health has also recorded more than 1,000 cases of the United Kingdom (Alpha) and South Africa (Beta) variants.

The travel ban will take effect on June 16 and last until June 30, Palace spokesman Harry Roque said. John Ezekiel J. Hirro