Travelers from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Nepal will be barred from entering the Philippines starting Friday, May 7, Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea announced on Wednesday.

In a statement, Medialdea said the ban would start at midnight on May 7 and last until May 14.

Foreign passengers coming from or who have been to the four countries within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, arriving before midnight of May 7 will be allowed to enter the country.

However, they will be required to undergo a facility-based 14-day quarantine even if they obtain a negative RT-PCR test result.

Those “merely transiting” through the four countries will not be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine, but should “comply with existing testing and quarantine protocols of the national government,” Medialdea said.

The Philippine government earlier prohibited the entry of foreign travelers from India, which has been seeing a surge in Covid-19 cases since April.

The Philippines has recorded 1,073,555 Covid-19 cases as of May 5. John Ezekiel J. Hirro