The Philippines will prohibit the entry of foreign travelers from Austria starting Jan. 10 due to the new coronavirus variant, Malacañang has announced.

In a statement, Palace spokesman Harry Roque said the ban will start on the midnight of Jan. 10 until Jan. 15.

Foreign passengers coming from or who have been to Austria within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines, arriving before midnight of Jan. 10 will be allowed to enter the country.

However, they will be required to undergo a facility-based 14-day quarantine even if they obtain a negative RT-PCR test result, Roque said.

Filipino citizens coming from Austria will be allowed to enter the Philippines throughout the duration of the ban but will be subject to an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period, even if they obtain a negative RT-PCR test result.

The Philippines’ travel ban also covers the following countries:

  1. US
  2. UK
  3. Portugal
  4. India
  5. Finland
  6. Norway
  7. Jordan
  8. Brazil
  9. Denmark
  10. Ireland
  11. Japan
  12. Australia
  13. Israel
  14. The Netherlands
  15. Hong Kong, SAR
  16. Switzerland
  17. France
  18. Germany
  19. Iceland
  20. Italy
  21. Lebanon
  22. Singapore
  23. Sweden
  24. South Korea
  25. South Africa
  26. Canada
  27. Spain

The Philippines has tallied 485,797 Covid-19 cases as of Jan. 9. John Ezekiel J. Hirro