The Philippines has included France in the countries under its “red list,” Malacañang has announced.

France will be under the red list from Dec. 10 to Dec. 15, acting Palace spokesman Karlo Nograles said.

Passengers who have been to France within 14 days immediately preceding arrival in the Philippines and those who will arrive from Dec. 10 to Dec. 13 will be required to undergo a two-week facility-based quarantine.

From Dec. 13 to Dec. 15, entry in any port of the Philippines will not be allowed for passengers who have been to France within the last 14 days prior regardless of their vaccination status.

“Only Filipinos returning to the country via government-initiated or non-government-initiated repatriation, and Bayanihan Flights may be allowed entry, subject to existing testing and quarantine protocols for Red List countries/territories/jurisdictions,” Nograles said.

The Philippines imposed the measure in light of the threat of the Omicron Covid-19 variant.

Countries under the red list are considered at high risk for Covid-19. John Ezekiel J. Hirro