The Philippine government has placed 28 more areas under Alert Level 3 amid surging Covid-19 cases.

Acting Palace spokesman Karlo Nograles said in a statement that the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases on Wednesday decided to place the following areas under the heightened alert level:


  • Benguet
  • Kalinga
  • Abra
  • La Union
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Pangasinan
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Isabela
  • Quirino
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Tarlac
  • Quezon Province
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Camarines Sur
  • Albay


  • Bacolod City
  • Aklan
  • Capiz
  • Antique
  • Cebu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Tacloban City


  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Davao City
  • Butuan City
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Cotabato City

The areas will be under Alert Level 3 from Jan. 14 to Jan. 31.

Nograles said that the IATF would meet on Thursday to discuss the alert levels of areas earlier placed under Alert Level 3.

The Philippines on Wednesday recorded 32,246 new Covid-19 cases, pushing its active tally to 208,164. John Ezekiel J. Hirro