Malacañang on Wednesday called on Filipinos to “move forward” and unite after the Commission on Elections (Comelec) proclaimed the 12 senators who won in the 2022 elections.

Acting Palace spokesman Martin Andanar said there was “a sense of hope and optimism with the new set of lawmakers,” who were led by former action star Robin Padilla.

“We congratulate the 12 newly proclaimed Senators of the Republic. Our people have elected old and new faces in the Senate, and there is a sense of hope and optimism with the new set of lawmakers,” Andanar said.

This year’s “Magic 12” included five returning Senators, four reelectionists and three newcomers.

“It is now time to move forward after a divisive election campaign and begin the daunting task of speeding up our economic recovery affected by the Covid-19 pandemic. Let us work closely together and pray for our nation’s success,” he added.

Sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, the Comelec en banc on Wednesday proclaimed Padilla, Loren Legarda, Raffy Tulfo, Sherwin Gatchalian, Francis Escudero, Mark Villar, Alan Peter Cayetano, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Joel Villanueva, JV Ejercito, Risa Hontiveros and Jinggoy Estrada as winners of the senatorial race.

There were 55,549,791 Filipinos who cast their vote on May 9. John Ezekiel J. Hirro