The government will open three additional city bus routes on Friday to bring to 31 the rationalized bus routes in Metro Manila, which is now under general community quarantine (GCQ).

On Facebook, the Department of Transportation (DOTr) announced the three new bus routes: Monumento to Balagtas, Bulacan; EDSA to Montalban, Rizal; and the Ninoy Aquino Internation Airport Loop.

By Monday, June 8, three more city bus routes will open – from Monumento to Valenzuela Gateway Complex, Gilmore to Taytay and Monumento to San Jose Del Monte.

The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board will continue to discuss capacity and deployment with bus operators, the DOTr said.

The DOTr has also issued guidelines for the maritime sector, which encompass the usual protocols on regular sanitary and disinfection measures, physical distancing in ports and vessels, adoption of a maximum 50 percent passenger load capacity and information dissemination.

Specific to the maritime sector, automation will be implemented in terms of setting up an automated passenger ticketing system targeted for implementation by the last quarter of 2020, integrating payment portals into a single or integrated online payment platform for Philippine Ports Authority cargo terminals, and
institutionalizing of a centralized vessel tracking system. (Jojo Mangahis)

Source of preview image: DOTr Facebook page