South Korean girl group MOMOLAND surprised the world after it announced its disbandment following the expiration of their contract with MLD Entertainment.

Hyebin, Nancy, Jane, JooE, Nayun, JooE, and Ahi, the remaining six members of the group shared the news on Instagram about their disbandment via a handwritten letter, written both in Korean and English. 

“After a long, deep discussion, the six of us members have decided to support each other to have a great new beginning going forward. Even though we have decided to take our own paths towards our dreams, Us MOMOLAND will always be a team,” it read.

The girl group also expressed their thanks to their fan base known as “Merries” for “providing [them] with precious memories.”

“Our Merries have been everything to us and will always be,” they added. 

They also asked their fans to continue supporting the members as they pursue their individual careers. 

The group is known for their songs “Bboom Bboom,” “BAAM,” and “Pinky Love.”

Ronald Espartinez