After a month under Alert Level 3, Metro Manila will revert to the less restrictive Alert Level 2 from Feb. 1 to 15, Malacañang announced on Sunday.

Acting Palace spokesman Karlo Nograles said the country’s pandemic task force had decided to place Metro Manila and the provinces of Batanes, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Biliran, Southern Leyte and Basilan under Alert Level 2.

The Alert Level 3 in Metro Manila, which started on Jan. 3, prompted the government to undo the easing of some restrictions.

Alert Level 2 allows higher-capacity face-to-face classes, contact sports, cinemas, fairs and other events.

Because of Metro Manila’s reversion to the more lenient alert level, the “no vax, no ride” policy in the capital region will also be suspended.

Meanwhile, the following cities and provinces have been placed under Alert Level 3:

  • Cordillera Administrative Region: Abra, Apayao, Baguio City, Benguet, Kalinga and Mountain Province; 
  • Region I: Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan;  
  • Region II: City of Santiago, Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya and Quirino; 
  • Region III: Angeles City, Aurora, Bataan, Nueva Ecija, Olongapo City, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales; 
  • Region IV-A: Batangas, Laguna, Lucena City and Quezon Province; 
  • Region IV-B: Marinduque, Romblon, Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro and Puerto Princesa City; 
  • Region V: Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, Masbate, Naga City and Sorsogon. 
  • Region VI: Aklan, Antique, Bacolod City, Capiz, Iloilo City, Iloilo, Negros Occidental and Guimaras; 
  • Region VII: Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu City, Mandaue City, Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental and Siquijor; and 
  • Region VIII: Ormoc City, Tacloban City, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar and Western Samar. 
  • Region IX: City of Isabela, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga Sibugay; 
  • Region X: Bukidnon, Cagayan de Oro City, Iligan City, Lanao del Norte, Misamis Occidental and Misamis Oriental; 
  • Region XI: Davao City, Davao Del Sur, Davao Del Norte, Davao Oriental and Davao de Oro; 
  • Region XII: General Santos City, North Cotabato, Sarangani, South Cotabato and Sultan Kudarat; 
  • Region XIII: Surigao del Norte, Surigao Del Sur, Agusan Del Norte, Agusan del Sur and Butuan City; and 
  • Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao: Maguindanao, Cotabato City and Lanao Del Sur

The country has been dealing with a surge in Covid-19 cases due to the highly infectious Omicron variant and gatherings during the holiday season.

As of Jan. 30, it has recorded 213,587 active Covid-19 cases. John Ezekiel J. Hirro