There will be no nationwide modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) in March as Metro Manila and nine other areas will remain under general community quarantine (GCQ), Malacañang announced on Saturday.

GCQ will also be imposed in Baguio City, Apayao, Kalinga, Mt. Province, Batangas, Tacloban City, Iligan City, Davao City and Lanao del Sur.

The rest of the country will be under MGCQ, the least restrictive community quarantine status.

The classifications will take effect on March 1 and last until March 31.

The National Economic and Development Authority earlier recommended placing the country under MGCQ to reduce hunger and restart jobs amid the Covid-19 pandemic.

President Rodrigo Duterte, however, insisted that the entire country would only be placed under MGCQ once the country began its mass inoculation drive.

The country has recorded 574,247 Covid-19 cases as of Feb. 27. John Ezekiel J. Hirro