PCO photo

President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. has appointed Abdulraof Macacua and Bai Mariam Mangudadatu as officers in charge of the newly established provinces of Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur.

According to a Palace release, Macacua’s task is to “maintain peace and stability in the region, a prerequisite for the development of the area and its people.”

Before being designated as the officer-in-charge (OIC) governor, Macacua was senior minister for the Bangsamoro Transition Authority.

Marcos Jr. also appointed Bai Fatima Ainee Limbona Sinsuat as the OIC of the Office of the Vice Governor of Maguindanao del Norte, and Datu Nathaniel Sangacala Midtimbang as the OIC of the Office of the Vice Governor of Maguindanao del Sur.

Former president Rodrigo Duterte signed into law Republic Act No. 11550, which split Maguindanao into two, in May 2021.

Maguindanao del Norte is composed of the municipalities of Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay.

Maguindanao del Sur is composed of the municipalities of Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi. John Ezekiel J. Hirro