A magnitude 4.9 earthquake struck General Nakar, Quezon province in the early hours of Tuesday.

The earthquake that struck at 2:14 a.m. was tectonic in origin and occurred at a 15-kilometer depth of focus, the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) said.

The following aftershocks were recorded in the same province: magnitude 1.8 at 4:09 a.m., magnitude 2.9 at 4:10 a.m., and magnitude 2.8 at 6:58 a.m.

#EarthquakePH is trending on social media as strong tremors have been reported in Metro Manila, Bulacan, and nearby provinces.

The locations where the earthquake was felt and their intensities are as follows:

Intensity IV – General Nakar, Quezon; Malolos City and San Jose Del Monte City, Bulacan; Lumban, Laguna; Quezon City; Caloocan City; Makati City;
Rodriguez, Rizal
Intensity III – Lucban, Quezon, Gabaldon, Nueva Ecija; Caloocan City; Malabon City; Talim Island and Binangonan, Rizal;
Intensity II – Santa Cruz, Laguna; San Mateo, Antipolo City and Tanay, Rizal; Marikina City; Navotas City; Plaridel, Bulacan;
Intensity I – Guinayangan, Quezon

The following places registered instrumental intensities:

Intensity IV – Navotas City
Intensity III – Dolores, Quezon; Plaridel, Malolos City and Calumpit, Bulacan; Guagua, Pampanga; Marikina City;Quezon City; Pasig City; Mandaluyong City;
Malabon City; San Juan City;
Intensity II – Palayan City, Nueva Ecija; Baler, Aurora; Gumaca, Quezon; Tagaytay City, Cavite; Las Piñas City; San Ildefonso, Bulacan;
Intensity I – Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija; Muntinlupa City; Guinayangan, Lucena City and Lucban, Quezon; Daet, Camarines Norte; Carmona and Bacoor City, Cavite;

There were no reports of damage to property or injuries. (Krizzia Nieva/DLSU-D Intern)