President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. has approved the calendar of holidays, non-working days and special working days for 2023.

The following were declared as holidays for 2023, according to Proclamation No. 42 signed by the president on Aug. 22:

Regular Holidays
January 1 (Sunday) – New Year’s Day
April 9 (Sunday) – Araw ng Kagitingan
April 6 – Maundy Thursday
April 7 – Good Friday
May 1 (Monday) – Labor Day
June 12 (Monday) – Independence Day
August 28 (last Monday of August) – National Heroes Day
November 30 (Thursday) – Bonifacio Day
December 25 (Monday) – Christmas Day
December 30 (Saturday) – Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days
February 1 (Tuesday) – Chinese New Year
February 25 (Saturday) – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary
April 8 – Black Saturday
August 21 (Monday) – Ninoy Aquino Day
November 1 (Wednesday) – All Saints’ Day
December 8 (Friday) – Feast of the Immaculate Concepcion of Mary
December 31 (Sunday) – Last Day of the Year

Additional Special Non-Working Day
November 2 (Thursday) – All Souls’ Day

Eid’l Fit’r and Eid’l Adha will remain as national holidays, but their dates would be determined upon the recommendation of the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos. John Ezekiel J. Hirro