President Rodrigo Duterte approved the calendar of holidays, non-working days, special working days for 2022.


The following were declared as holidays for 2022, according to Proclamation 1236 signed by Duterte on Oct. 29:


Regular Holidays

January 1 (Saturday) – New Year’s Day

April 9 (Saturday) – Araw ng Kagitingan

April 14 – Maundy Thursday

April 15 – Good Friday

May 1 (Sunday) – Labor Day

June 12 (Sunday) – Independence Day

August 29 (last Monday of August) – National Heroes Day

November 30 (Wednesday) – Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Sunday) – Christmas Day

December 30 (Friday) – Rizal Day


Special Non-Working Days

February 1 (Tuesday) – Chinese New Year

February 25 (Friday) – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 16 – Black Saturday

August 21 (Sunday) – Ninoy Aquino Day

November 1 (Tuesday) – All Saints’ Day

December 8 (Thursday) – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary

For the third straight year, Nov. 2 (All Souls’ Day), Dec. 24 (Christmas Eve), and Dec. 31 (New Year’s Eve), 2022 are declared as “special working days.”

“For the country to recover from the adverse economic impact of the Covid-19 pandemic, there is a need to encourage economic productivity by, among others, minimizing work disruption and commemorating some special holidays as special [working] days instead,” Duterte said in his proclamation.

Duterte also said Eid’l Fit’r and Eid’l Adha would remain as national holidays, but their dates would be determined upon recommendation of the National Commission on Muslim Filipinos. John Ezekiel J. Hirro