Ilocos Norte Governor Matthew Marcos Manotoc has placed the Laoag City and Pagudpud town under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) due to the rising cases of the coronavirus disease 2019 (Covid-19).

In a Facebook post, Manotoc said he signed Executive Order No. 145-21 of placing Laoag City and Pagudpud under ECQ from August 1 to 15, 2021 after meeting with their respective mayors.

Only essential travel and services will be allowed in these places during the strictest lockdown classification. A liquor ban and curfew will be in effect from 9 p.m. to 4 a.m.

In a separate executive order, Manotoc placed the municipalities of Bacarra, Badoc, Burgos, and Pinili under general community quarantine (GCQ) with “heightened restrictions” from August 1 to 15.

As of July 31, Ilocos Norte has 8,155 active cases with Laoag City recording the most number of active cases at 1,018. – Rommel F. Lopez