The Philippine government has included Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro to the list of areas under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ).

Palace spokesman Harry Roque announced the new classifications on Thursday night.

“President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) to place Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro under (ECQ) beginning Aug. 6 until Aug. 15, 2021,” Roque said.

The ECQ in the said areas will coincide with the start of the Metro Manila ECQ, which will last longer until Aug. 20.

Meanwhile, Cavite, Lucena City, Rizal and Iloilo Province were placed under modified ECQ, the second most stringent classification, from Aug. 6 to 15.

Batangas and Quezon were placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions in the same span.

Gingoog City will also be under GCQ with heightened restrictions starting Aug. 8.

The Philippines has recorded 1,627,816 Covid-19 cases as of Aug. 5. John Ezekiel J. Hirro