The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has suspended the inbound travel of locally stranded individuals (LSIs) to Western Visayas, Iligan City and Lanao del Sur.

In Resolution 69 issued on Sept. 7, the IATF said chief implementer of the national action plan against Covid-19 Secretary Carlito Galvez Jr. recommended the suspension.

Iligan City has been under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) since Sept. 1.

President Rodrigo Duterte approved yesterday the addition of Bacolod City and Lanao del Sur to the list of MECQ areas until Sept. 30.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque would later clarify that the ban on LSIs’ entrance to the areas would be effective only for two weeks.

“The moratorium is effective only for fourteen (14) days from September 7 until September 21, 2020,” he said in a statement. John Ezekiel J. Hirro