The pandemic task force has included the province of Isabela in the list of areas under general community quarantine (GCQ) for the remainder of 2020, Malacañang said on Tuesday.

Isabela joins Metro Manila, Davao City, Iloilo City, Tacloban City, Lanao del Sur and Iligan City, which were placed under GCQ until Dec. 31 in November.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque said that Santiago City in Isabela was not placed under GCQ.

“Nagpulong po ang inyong [Inter-Agency Task Force on Emerging Infectious Diseases] kahapon [at] naaprubahan… ang pag-escalate sa probinsiya ng Isabela – pero hindi po kasama ang Santiago City – sa [GCQ] galing po sa [modified GCQ],” he said in a Palace briefing.

Roque said the province’s reversion to the more stringent GCQ was recommended by Isabela Gov. Rodolfo Albano III.

“Ang paglalagay sa Isabela sa GCQ ay nakabase sa moderate risk, gross tabulation ng average daily attack rate at two-week daily growth rate. At ito rin po ay dahil po sa hiniling at ni-recommend ng governor na si Governor Albano,” he explained.

The country has 451,839 Covid-19 cases as of Dec. 15. John Ezekiel J. Hirro