The Philippines has extended its travel ban on travelers from more than 30 countries over the new and more infectious coronavirus variant, Malacañang announced on Friday.

Palace spokesman Harry Roque said the travel ban was extended until Jan. 31, 2021.

The travel restrictions were supposed to lapse tomorrow, Jan, 16.

Foreign travelers from countries included in the ban will not be allowed to enter the country throughout its duration.

Filipino citizens coming from such countries will be allowed to enter the Philippines throughout the duration of the ban but will be subject to an absolute facility-based 14-day quarantine period, even if they obtain a negative RT-PCR test result.

The country has also added the United Arab Emirates and Hungary as among the countries included in the travel ban, effective Jan. 17.

The ban also covers the following countries:

  • United Kingdom
  • Denmark
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Australia
  • Israel
  • The Netherlands
  • China (including Hong Kong)
  • Switzerland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Lebanon
  • Singapore
  • Sweden
  • South Korea
  • South Africa
  • Canada
  • Spain
  • United States
  • Portugal
  • India
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Jordan
  • Brazil
  • Austria
  • Pakistan
  • Jamaica
  • Luxembourg
  • Oman

The country has 496,646 Covid-19 cases as of Jan. 15. John Ezekiel J. Hirro