Metro Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal, or NCR-Plus, will remain under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions until June 15, President Rodrigo Duterte announced on Monday.

Duterte initially announced that the GCQ in NCR-Plus would last the entire month of June, but his spokesman Harry Roque issued the clarification in a text message to reporters.

GCQ will also be imposed in Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Abra, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur and Cotabato City until end-June.

Santiago City in Isabela, Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa City in Palawan, Iloilo City in Iloilo, Zamboanga City in Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City in Misamis Oriental, Butuan City in Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur will be under modified enhanced community quarantine from June 1 to June 15.

The rest of the country will be under MGCQ, the least restrictive community quarantine status.

The country has recorded 1,230,301 Covid-19 cases including 1,155,045 recoveries and 20,966 deaths as of May 31. John Ezekiel J. Hirro