Imposition of quarantine measures may be limited to specific areas with confirmed Covid-19 cases by June, National Task Force Covid-19 chief implementer Secretary Carlito Galvez Jr. said Friday.

Galvez explained that the zoning concept would use the terminologies “critical area,” “containment area,” “buffer zone” and “economic area” to differentiate specific areas within a community.

“Ang zoning concept po na ito, napakaganda po nito dahil kasi talaga iyong area ay iku-cordon natin or gagawin natin iyong tinatawag na… doon na lang natin ila-lockdown sa mga areas o mga compound na affected,” the Covid-19 response czar said.

Areas with Covid-19 cases will be called the “critical areas.” Surrounding areas will be labeled “containment areas.”

Neighboring critical and containment areas without coronavirus cases will be called “buffer zones.”

Outside of buffer zones are “economic areas” where 50 to 100 percent of economic activity will be allowed to operate.

The implementation of the zoning concept will likely be in June, when the current enhanced, modified enhanced and general quarantine measures are expected to be lifted. John Ezekiel J. Hirro