Filipinos from countries under the “red list” are now allowed to enter the Philippines, Malacañang announced on Friday.

Filipinos from countries under the red list were earlier only allowed to travel to the Philippines via government-chartered flights.

Acting Palace spokesman Karlo Nograles said returning Filipinos from red-list countries could now enter the country through regular flights.

“Napagdesisyunan na kahit sa mga red list countries na mga Filipinos we will now allow them to come in as long as they comply with the red list protocols. So, hindi na kailangang maghintay ng Bayanihan flights ang ating mga kababayan mula sa red list countries,” Nograles said in a Palace briefing.

Countries under the red list until Jan. 31 are Saudi Arabia, Canada, Spain, Antigua and Barbuda, Curacao, Malta, Puerto Rico, Aruba, French Guiana, Mayotte, US Virgin Islands, Iceland, Mozambique and Somalia.

Returning Filipinos are still required to present a negative RT-PCR test 48 hours prior to departure and undergo a facility-based quarantine.

Nograles also announced that foreign nationals, except for tourists, would be allowed to enter the country starting Feb. 16, as long as they are fully vaccinated and above the age of 18. John Ezekiel J. Hirro