Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte-Carpio said the Enhanced Community Quarantine in the entire Davao Region (Region XI) will be extended.

“Kinahanglan i-extend atong ECQ. [We need to extend our ECQ] We will prepare the document for further details. For now, ECQ lang gihapon ta,” Duterte-Carpio who is also the chair of the region’s Task Force COVID-19 said in an interview with GMA Network’s One Mindanao.

Local government executives of Davao region met to discuss and approved the ECQ extension in Davao Region earlier today.

The entire region has been placed under enhanced community quarantine since the evening of April 4.

Earlier, Duterte- Carpio admitted that she was considering putting Davao City under an extreme enhanced community quarantine (EECQ) if the number of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) cases in the city would continue to rise.

However, Dr. Leopoldo J. Vega, Chief of the Southern Philippines Medical Center in Davao City said on April 6 that the city nay have effectively “contained the contagion”.  He said the city has an average daily positive cases from only two to four cases, with zero on some days.

Region 11 comprises the Davao provinces (Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte, Davao de Oro, Davao Oriental and Davao Occidental), 1 highly urbanized city (Davao City), 5 component cities, 43 municipalities and 1,162 barangays. (Rommel F. Lopez)