President Rodrigo Duterte confers the Order of Lapu-Lapu, with the Rank of Kalasag, posthumously, on one of the police officers reported killed by communist rebels at Camp Lt. Col. Francisco C. Fernandez Jr. in Sibulan, Negros Oriental on July 20, 2019. ACE MORANDANTE/PRESIDENTIAL PHOTO

President Rodrigo Duterte posthumously awarded the Order of Lapu-Lapu, Rank of Kalasag on four policemen reported killed in an ambush by communist insurgents in Ayungon, Negros Oriental on July 18.

Duterte led the awarding rites held at Camp Francisco Fernandez, in Sibulan, Negros Oriental on Saturday.

The Palace later said a P1-million reward would be given for information on the killers.

The four policemen killed were Cpl. Relebert Beronio, Patrolman Raffy Callao, Patrolman Ruel Cabellon, and Patrolman Marquino de Leon.

They were identified as intelligence personnel from the 704th Mobile Force Company Regional Mobile Force Battalion of the Philippine National Police (PNP) in Central Visayas.

The PNP said the policemen were checking whether New People’s Army (NPA) rebels were present at Barangay Mabato in Ayungon town, when they were attacked. 

“Their firearms were taken by the rebels and the motorcycles they were using went missing,” the Palace said in a press release.

The Palace said the Order of Lapu-Lapu is “given to persons in government or private sector who have rendered extraordinary service or have made exceptional contributions to the success of the President’s campaign or advocacy.”

The Kalasag Medal is “awarded to officials and personnel of the government and private individuals who lost their lives as a direct result of their participation in an activity pursuant to a campaign or advocacy of the President,” the Palace said. (