President Rodrigo Duterte has signed an administrative order (AO) granting hazard pay to government personnel who physically report for work in areas under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) or more stringent lockdowns.

AO 43, signed by Duterte on June 1, grants hazard pay of up to P500 daily to government frontliners.

Previously, only government workers in areas under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) qualified for the aid.

Duterte said government employees who physically report for work during ECQ and MECQ were “inevitably exposed to the risk of Covid-19 infection and other similar health dangers and hazards.”

The AO covers government workers who occupy a regular, contractual or casual position or those engaged through a contract of service, job order, or similar schemes.

Santiago City in Isabela, Cagayan, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa City in Palawan, Iloilo City in Iloilo, Zamboanga City in Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City in Misamis Oriental, Butuan City in Agusan del Norte and Agusan del Sur are under MECQ from June 1 to June 15. John Ezekiel J. Hirro