The Department of Agriculture (DA) temporarily bans import of meat products due to H5N8 threat (Photo credits: Department of Agriculture)

Amid the H5N8 highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) virus outbreak, the Department of Agriculture (DA) has temporarily banned meat product imports from Denmark, Malaysia, Sweden and France.

The DA order took effect on March 23, 2021.

Based on a report submitted by chief veterinary officers Dr. Hanne Larsen of Denmark, Dr. Dr. Loic Evain of France, Dr. Hakan Henrikson of Sweden, and Dr. Sarah Dadang Abdullah of Malaysia, the outbreak has reached their countries as confirmed by their national laboratories. 

The H5N8 virus cases were reported in:

  • Municipality of Bornholm, Denmark, affecting laying hens as confirmed by the Statens Serum Institut (national laboratory);
  • different departments of France affecting birds, as confirmed by the Anses-Ploufragan-Plouzane-Niort laboratory, Ploufragan site (national laboratory);
  • Municipalities of Trelleborg and Kungsbacka respectively, affecting birds, as confirmed by the National Veterinary Institute (national laboratory); and
  • Pitas, KotaMarudu and Beluran districts of Sabah affecting backyard swine and wild boars, as confirmed by Veterinary Research Institute (national laboratory).

The DA said importation of domestic and wild birds and their products, including poultry meat, day-old chicks, eggs and semen, is banned  until the order is “revoked in writing.”

To recall, the Philippines was cleared of the H5N6 virus in January 2021. H.B. Oledan