After the government announced the shift of Metro Manila, Laguna and Bataan to modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ), the Commission on Elections (Comelec) remained stern about the suspension of voter registration in areas under strict lockdown.

The three areas were previously placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ).

The suspension of voter registration and issuance of voter’s certification in the three areas will remain suspended until Aug. 31, the poll body said in an advisory on Friday.

Satellite registration in barangays, malls and other venues will also remain suspended.

Also on Friday, Comelec said voter registration hours in areas under general community quarantine (GCQ) and modified GCQ (MGCQ) would be extended to include Saturdays and holidays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. starting August 23.

“In areas under ECQ and MECQ where voter registration is suspended, the new registration schedule will automatically take effect once the quarantine classification is downgraded to GCQ or MGCQ,” the poll body said.

The Comelec also said it would not extend the deadline of voter registration for the 2022 national elections despite the prolonged lockdowns.

“The deadline for voter registration is still Sept. 30, 2021,” it said. John Ezekiel J. Hirro