Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin on Tuesday said Jose Calida had resigned as chairman of the Commission on Audit (COA).

Bersamin did not divulge Calida’s reason for his resignation.

“He tendered his resignation for many reasons but it’s up to him to later explain to you… but we accepted that with regret and we commended him for his patriotism,” Bersamin said.

Multiple reports released on Tuesday confirmed that the Commission on Appointments had bypassed Calida’s appointment but was not among those reappointed by President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr.

“Today, the president issued reappointment to 10 Cabinet members; unfortunately, Chair Calida was not one of those reappointed. The commission will wait for the president’s appointment of a new chair for COA,” the COA was quoted as saying in the reports.

Among those reappointed by the President were the following:

  • Benjamin Diokno – Department of Finance secretary
  • Manuel Bonoan – Department of Public Works and Highways secretary
  • Alfredo Pascual – Department of Trade and Industry secretary
  • Erwin Tulfo – Department of Social Welfare and Development secretary
  • Jaime Bautista – Department of Transportation secretary
  • Renato Solidum Jr. – Department of Science and Technology secretary
  • Raphael Perpetuo Lotilla – Department of Energy secretary
  • Susan Ople – Department of Migrant Workers secretary
  • Arsenio Balisacan – National Economic and Development Authority secretary
  • Jose Rizalino Acuzar – Department of Human Settlements and Urban Development  secretary

Also on Tuesday, it was announced that Press Secretary Trixie Cruz-Angeles had quit her post as press secretary.

Bersamin also said his predecessor, Vic Rodriguez, was no longer part of the Marcos Jr. government.

Calida, a former solicitor general, campaigned for Rodrigo Duterte and then-vice presidential candidate Marcos Jr. in the 2016 elections. John Ezekiel J. Hirro