Trade and Industry Secretary Ramon Lopez and National Task Force Covid-19 chief implementer Carlito Galvez Jr. inspect a salon. (Photo courtesy NTF COVID-19)

The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases has approved the gradual reopening of barbershops and salons in general community quarantine (GCQ) areas starting June 7, with safety requirements in place.

Barbershops and salons may start limited operations and open up to 30 percent of their capacities by June 7, and up to half-capacity two weeks after. After three weeks, full capacity will be allowed.

“’Wag po kayo masyadong ma-excite dahil limitado po ang mga barbero at mga salon sa paggugupit. Wala pa ring facial, wala pa ring [manicure], wala pa ring pagtanggal ng mga…eyebrows. Hanggang gupit lang tayo,” Palace spokesman Harry Roque said during the Laging Handa.

The Department of Trade and Industry has released guidelines to be followed by barbershops and salons.

These include mandatory wearing of face masks, social distancing, regular sanitation and no physical contact during payment.

Metro Manila, Cagayan Valley, Central Luzon, Calabarzon and Central Visayas regions, Davao City, Zamboanga City, Pangasinan and Albay provinces will be under GCQ starting June 1, while all other areas in the country will be placed under modified GCQ. John Ezekiel J. Hirro