The Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases has placed Kalinga, Ifugao, Mountain Province and Northern Samar under Alert Level 4.

Acting Palace spokesman Karlo Nograles announced the new set of alert levels on Thursday night, which escalated more areas to Alert Level 3.

These areas are as follows:

  • Luzon: Apayao, Puerto Princesa City and Masbate 
  • Visayas: Siquijor 
  • Mindanao: Zamboanga del Norte and Zamboanga Sibugay in Region 9; Lanao del Norte in Region 10; Davao de Oro and Davao Oriental in Region 11; North Cotabato, Sarangani and Sultan Kudarat in Region 12; Surigao del Norte in Caraga; and Maguindanao and Basilan in BARMM

The above-mentioned alert levels will take effect on Friday, Jan. 21, and will last until Jan. 31.

Fifty-five other areas were earlier placed under Alert Level 3.

The country has 275,364 active Covid-19 cases as of Jan. 20. John Ezekiel J. Hirro